City Adventures #1

Hey!

Welcome to the new series I’ve started on my blog called City Adventures.

This year, we haven’t gone anywhere for vacations. Instead my family and I decided we would stay in Mumbai and explore it.

Though we have lived so many years here, we never get time to roam around 1. Because of the traffic 2.Because we are so busy.

So I’ve decided to capture wherever I go because we will be going to some really nice places in Mumbai.

Today, I’ll share pictures of Aarey Milk Colony. We were near there for lunch today and decided to drive past. It was the first time I visited the place, and wow so much green.

It is so very green and a photographers heaven. I didn’t have my DSLR but managed to get a few images with my phone.

I will be going there one more time to do some photography, I will add those images in the City Adventures #2 post!

This post might even be helpful for people visiting Mumbai for holiday, or just if you want to know about our city. I don’t really know how many in all these posts will comprise of but I’m sure you will enjoy reading them!

The Aarey Milk Colony is a neighbourhood situated in Goregaon East, a suburb of the city of Mumbai, India. It was established in 1949 and officially inaugurated by the then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru in 1951.[2] Aarey Milk Colony includes 12 villages – Sai, Gundgav, Film City, Royal Palms, Dindoshi (Eksar Pahad), Aarey, Pahadi Goregaon, Vyraval, Kondivita, Maroshi (Marol), Parjapur and Paspoli. In 1977, 200 hectares of land was carved out from Aarey village to establish Film City.[3] The colony is spread over 16 square kilometres (4,000 acres) and is located off the Western Express Highway. Among the attractions in it are Chhota Kashmir with a lake and a picnic spot.[4]

The colony also has gardens, a nursery, lakes, an observation pavilion, picnic facilities, and milk plants. 16,000 cattle are reared on 1,287 hectares of land, and 32 cattle farms.[5] The management of all these is outsourced to a private firm every two years.[6]Film City is frequently used for movie shoots. SOURCE:WIKIPEDIA

It is so green!! I was so surprised to see such greenery in one place in Mumbai. Aarey also has a lot of animals like Leopards,Deers,Monkeys and even Peacocks, they usually are not seen during the day but early morning or you may spot them.

Here is a small video I took as an overview of the greenery.

 

PhotoGrid_1494324156103
Very pretty Gulmohar Flowers.

PhotoGrid_1494323673692

 

IMG_20170509_141150
Butterscotch Flavoured Milk

 

IMG_20170509_141205
This really cooled me down!

I just got these videos and images for today, as I said I will add more in my next upcoming post.

I will cover all the eating places/any pretty place I visit!

I’m going to a really famous place for breakfast tomorrow, so will post about it soon!

I absolutely recommend going here, to everyone. Its such a pretty place, try to be in a vehicle so you can roam around everywhere as walking in this heat is pretty tiring. Today was 33ºC!

Thanks for reading!

Song Credits– Luis Fonsi – Despacito ft. Daddy Yankee

-Ri

6 thoughts on “City Adventures #1

Leave a Reply

